When does the new year end?

So what’s your new year’s resolution? Yes, I am aware that it’s the first of February. Every year people make all sorts of resolutions. Top of the list are to quit smoking, lose weight, not drink so much, go to church more, stop complaining about almost everything at work. And then come February or if they try really hard come March they fall back to old habits. Maybe I should say we; because for the last couple of years I’ve started out wanting to lose weight, wanting to do all sorts of great-sounding things and then come February, March, April it’s fizzled out and I return to status quo, modus operandi, life-as-usual. Whoever said old habits die hard knew what he or she was talking about. So as this year begun I asked myself do I want to set myself up for failure? Again!

As my hubby and I celebrated the coming in of the new year with a wonderful dinner, champagne and fireworks my mind started to churn… another year is here. What do I want to do this year? When I look back at this year what do I want to be proud of, happy about? I thought about this for the whole first week of January and came to a realization (to be honest I had already realized this sometime ago but just didn’t want to deal with it): I wasn’t satisfied with my life. I realized that I could do so much more, be so much more but somewhere along the way I had settled for “ok”. Not on everything in my life but on quite a bit. So, what was I going to do about it this year? I decided that I would look at every area of my life and come up with a goal that I want to achieve during the year. So I came up with a goal for the following guided by the wheel of life http://chrislocurto.com/zig-ziglars-wheel-of-life/ :

1. Marriage

2. Friends and family

3. Career

4. Education

5. Personal development

6. Physical health

7. Finances

8. Spiritual

I didn’t just think about them, I wrote them down – believing in the management adage that what gets written down gets done. During this process I roped in one of my best friends to do the same. I figured what better way to go on this journey than with a friend who wanted to see some change in her life as well.
That already makes this time different – writing down my goals and having an accountability partner to encourage, remind, chastise and challenge. We had a meeting over the lovely Internet (what did we do before the internet? Hopefully we won’t have to find out) and talked through each of our goals to ensure they were SMART (specific, measurable, achievable, relevant and time-bound). I was a student of management so yes, we had to approach it like an organization’s strategic plan.

One other thing is different this time as well. I am tired of status quo so I am determined to bring on the change this year. The rest of my life depends on it. My marriage and our future family depends on  it (if I can’t manage myself how in heaven’s name will I manage with bambinos in my life?). God’s purpose for my life depends on it. So how can I not change? Yes my mind tells me I could fall flat on my face and it will feel worse since I’ve blogged about it (one of my goals this year is to start a blog and make weekly posts or was it monthly? Lol!). But, I silence it remembering that failing doesn’t make me a failure. Staying down is what does; and I don’t plan to stay down. So here I am living out my goals. One day at a time. Asking myself each day “What can I do today towards my success?”

I welcome you to my journey in 2014 and beyond. And I welcome you to share your journey with me and hopefully the tens, hundreds and dare I say thousands of people who shall one day read this blog. January may be over but a new year begins every day and resolutions, goals can be made any day you CHOOSE. What’s your new year’s resolution?

2 Comments

What's on your mind?

